RVC CPD 2018 Course Programme

Our 2018 course programme is here! We are very excited to be delivering many new courses this year as well as our popular tried and tested courses. We are in the process of adding these courses to our website; please bear with us as we do so.

Please note some of our courses sell out quickly (especially our scanning courses as well as the likes of Logical clinical problem solving, Abdominal surgery - the essentials, and Dentistry in small animal practice) so book early to avoid disappointment or contact us on +44 1707 666865 or cpd@rvc.ac.uk and we will email you as soon as the course is available to book. 


Small animal medicine, clinical pathology and ophthalmology

Online 
eCPD Logical clinical problem solving online- Monday 8th January to Sunday 18th February

Haematology and cytology online - Monday 19th February to Sunday 1st April

Webinar Plus: Feline endocrinology - Monday 7th May to Sunday 3rd June   

Webinar: Understanding Alabama rot - Tuesday 3rd July

eCPD Ophthalmology online - a problem based approach - Monday 3rd September to Sunday 14th October  

Webinar Plus: Canine endocrinology - Monday 17th September to Sunday 14th October  

eCPD Clinical problem solving in small animal neurology online - Monday 1st October to Sunday 11th November   

NEW Webinar Plus: Interpreting the numbers - understanding clinical pathology in medical cases - Monday 8th October to Sunday 4th November  

Webinar Plus: Dermatology essentials - Monday 5th November to Sunday 2nd December

Onsite
NEW
Ophthalmological emergencies - Tuesday 27th March  

Practical endoscopy - Wednesday 5th and Thursday 6th December  


Emergency care and anaesthesia

Online
NEW
Webinar Plus: ECC - the next step - Monday 19th February to Sunday 1st April   
The above course webinars can also be purchased as live webinars (delegates who choose this option will not have access to the discussion forums and self-assessment tasks)

NEW Webinar Plus: Management of the small animal trauma patient - Monday 23rd April to Sunday 20th May
There is a practical course to compliment this course on Tuesday 10th July. To attend delegates must have taken part in this Webinar Plus course or purchased and watched all four webinars as a recording

NEW Webinar Plus: Diagnosis and management of small animal respiratory disease - Wednesday 9th May to Tuesday 5th June

Webinar Plus: Fundamentals of emergency medicine (part 1) - Monday 14th May to Sunday 10th June

Webinar: Blood gas and electrolytes - Wednesday 23rd May

Webinar Plus: Pain management in small animal practice - Monday 4th June to Sunday 1st July

eCPD Emergency patient online - Monday 24th September to Sunday 4th November  

NEW Webinar: Where did all the blood cells go? Approach to anaemia in dogs and cats - Tuesday 2nd October   

Webinar Plus: Fundamentals of emergency Medicine (part 2) - Monday 14th January to Sunday 10th February 2019 

Onsite
Management of the small animal trauma patient practical day - Tuesday 10th July
To attend this course delegates must have taken part in the Webinar Plus course: Management of the small animal trauma patient or purchased and watched all four webinars as a recording

Local anaesthetic techniques – Friday 9th November


Small animal surgery and dentistry

Online
Webinar Plus: Soft tissue surgery principles - Monday 1st to Sunday 28th October
There is a practical course to compliment this course on Thursday 29th November - delegates must have taken part in either this Webinar Plus course in 2018 or any previous year it has ran

Onsite
NEW
Practical physiotherapy for veterinary surgeons and nurses - Wednesday 18th and Thursday 19th April  

Practical hind limb surgery - the stifle - Tuesday 15th May

Practical hind limb surgery - the hip - Wednesday 16th May 

Abdominal surgery - the essentials - Wednesday 20th and Thursday 21st June  

Arthroscopy of the elbow and shoulder - Thursday 12th July   

Basic small animal arthrodesis - Wednesday 18th July

Introduction to linear external skeletal fixation - Wednesday 12th September   

Dentistry in small animal practice - Day 1: The fundamentals Day 2: Oral surgery - Tuesday 9th and Wednesday 10th October or Thursday 11th and Friday 12th October.  Delegates can attend one or both days

Surgical procedures of the head and neck - Tuesday 20th and Wednesday 21st November

NEW Soft tissue surgery practical day - Thursday 29th November 
To attend this course delegates must have taken part in the Webinar Plus course: Soft tissue surgery principles in 2018 or previous years

Small animal diagnostic imaging

Online
e-CPD Small animal veterinary computed tomography online: Technology, thorax, abdomen and vascular applications - Monday 15th January to Sunday 25th February 

e-CPD Learn to read radiographs online - Monday 22nd January to Sunday 4th March and Monday 22nd October to Sunday 2nd December

e-CPD Abdominal ultrasonography online - Monday 19th February to Sunday 1st April

Delegates of the above online course can also attend an optional Practical abdominal ultrasound scanning day on Wednesday 23rd May

NEW Webinar Plus: Thoracic and abdominal radiology - Wednesday 28th February to Sunday 27th March 

e-CPD Master Class online: Diagnostic imaging of the abdomen - Monday 3rd September to Sunday 14th October

Webinar Tips and tricks for reading radiographs in small animals: How to read radiographs - Monday 15th October

Webinar Tips and tricks for reading radiographs in small animals: What is the white bit in the lung? - Monday 22nd October

Webinar Tips and tricks for reading radiographs in small animals: What’s the problem with this abdomen? - Monday 29th October

Onsite

Thoracic radiology - Wednesday 7th February

Basic echocardiography - Wednesday 31st January and Wednesday 28th February

Practical abdominal ultrasound scanning day Wednesday 21st February, Wednesday 21st March and Wednesday 13th June

Basic small animal abdominal ultrasound - Wednesday 28th and Thursday 29th March and Thursday 28th and Friday 29th June 

Integrating echo and clinical practice - Tuesday 25th September     

Practical echocardiography - Wednesday 26th September   

Advanced small animal ultrasound: Finding the small parts - Thursday 1st and Friday 2nd November   

Intermediate echocardiography - Wednesday 12th December   


Equine and farm practice

Online
e-CPD Equine radiology online: the forelimb (new format for 2018) - Monday 15th January to Sunday 11th February   

NEW Webinar: How to approach animal health issues on organic farms - Tuesday 1st May

e-CPD Equine radiology online: the hindlimb (new format for 2018) - Monday 4th June to Sunday 1st July   

NEW Webinar: Smallholder pigs for vets in practice - Friday 15th June   

NEW Webinar: Common diseases in alpacas – case management (individual and herd), therapeutics and prevention - Friday 22nd June   

NEW Webinar: Small ruminants for vets in practice - Friday 29th June   

Webinar Plus: Equine anaesthesia - Monday 3rd to Sunday 30th September  

NEW Equine computed tomographic online: the head, neck and limbs - Monday 10th September to Sunday 7th October 

e-CPD Equine radiology online: head, neck and back (new format for 2018) - Monday 5th November to Sunday 2nd December

Onsite
NEW
Equine ophthalmology - Wednesday 3rd and Thursday 4th October (This course was originally due to run on Thursday 19th and Friday 20th July)

NEW Optimising calf management – the first 6 months - Wednesday 5th September (to be held at Kingston Maurward in Dorset)


Exotic pets

Online
NEW
Webinar Plus: Backyard poultry problems and solutions - Monday 29th January to Sunday 25th February 

NEW Rabbits, rodents and ferrets: medicine and surgery - Monday 1st October to Sunday 11th November

Onsite
Small mammal surgery – a practical course - Tuesday 27th and Wednesday 28th November  

Professional skills

Online
Webinar Plus: "Training the trainer": What to do with EMS students? - Monday 26th February to Sunday 25th March   

Webinar Plus: Building resilience to the challenges and pressures of practice - Monday 4th June to Sunday 1st July

NEW Webinar Plus: Finding ways to thrive (not just survive) in veterinary practice - Monday 5th November to Sunday 2nd December   

Webinar Plus: Navigating the CertAVP A module - Monday 5th November to Sunday 2nd December   

Onsite
CertAVP Induction day - Wednesday 27th June   


Veterinary nursing

Online
Webinar Plus: Advanced nutrition for nurses - Wednesday 17th January to Tuesday 13th February 

e-CPD Anaesthesia and analgesia for veterinary nurses online (new format for 2018) - Monday 19th February to Sunday 1st April   

NEW Small mammal nursing online - Monday 4th June to Sunday 15th July  

NEW Webinar Plus: Haematology for veterinary nurses - Monday 11th June to Sunday 8th July  

e-CPD Small animal medical nursing online - Monday 10th September to Sunday 21st October   

e-CPD Emergency and critcal care nursing online - Monday 1st October to Sunday 11th November

NEW anytime recorded webinar: Managing CKD in cats

NEW anytime recorded webinar: Feline acromegaly

Onsite
NEW
Practical physiotherapy for veterinary surgeons and nurses - Wednesday 18th and Thursday 19th April  

Local anaesthetic techniques - Friday 9th November


All Webinar Plus and e-CPD courses are bookable up to the first week of the course
All onsite courses are bookable up until the day before
All live webinar courses are bookable up until the start time of the webinar
All bookings are subject to availability and terms and conditions apply.